About USG

You want a degree, we've got you covered. USG's outstanding institutions, innovative leaders and some of the best faculty in the nation offer something for everyone.

professor writing on marker board
graduates walking down a path
student holding down a snapper turtle
student staring at computer chip
student looking into vr headset

The University System of Georgia (USG) includes 26 public colleges and universities located in communities across the state. Focused on the system's mission of teaching, research and service, our campuses offer a comprehensive range of academic programs that prioritize the skills you need for the high-impact jobs that move Georgia forward.

By the Numbers

26 institutions, with dozens of satellite locations
74,498 degrees (associate through doctoral) and certificates awarded
334,459 students
$19.3B annual economic impact in Georgia

Who We Are

USG is a part of the community in each of Georgia's 159 counties and provides services across the state. Our 26 higher education institutions include:

  • Four research universities;
  • Four comprehensive universities;
  • Nine state universities; and
  • Nine state colleges.

We also support the Georgia Public Library Service, which encompasses approximately 389 facilities within the 61 library systems throughout Georgia, as well as the Georgia Archives, which identifies, collects, manages, preserves and provides access to the state's historical public records.

How we began

The app,򾺲app of Regents of the University System of Georgia was created in 1931 as a part of a reorganization of Georgia's state government.

With this act, public higher education in Georgia was unified for the first time under a single governing and management authority.

Offering the nation's first Nexus degree

USG in 2018 received permission from accreditors to create the first-of-its-kind Nexus degree, a targeted degree of 18 hours for students at any stage of their career if they have passed core courses. This allows institutions to work with industry and focus on high-demand careers including cybersecurity, financial technology and film production all areas which play an important role in Georgia's economy.

Did You Know?

USG includes three Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs): Albany State University, Fort Valley State University and Georgia's oldest public HBCU, Savannah State University.

USG's Dalton State College is a federally designated Hispanic Serving Institution, the first in the state of Georgia and one of the first in the southeastern United States.